PDA

View Full Version : Easy populate not splitting my file is there another way?



DaddyChan
04-09-2013, 05:13 AM
I have a file with 15k products. I try to split it via the split function it just loads and loads then nothing. No errors nothing.

I tried to ftp it to the temp directory and upload from there and same thing, loads and loads just hangs then nothing.

Is there a way to upload a large file or a function in excel to split the file down?

Thanks..

P.S. Some actual real help/advice would be appreciated.

ridexbuilder
04-09-2013, 05:20 AM
I have a file with 15k products. I try to split it via the split function it just loads and loads then nothing. No errors nothing.

I tried to ftp it to the temp directory and upload from there and same thing, loads and loads just hangs then nothing.

Is there a way to upload a large file or a function in excel to split the file down?

Thanks..

P.S. Some actual real help/advice would be appreciated.


Don't use Excel - use LibreOffice
Don't upload all fields at once, split into smaller 'chunks'
Improve the performance of the server - tweak PHP timeouts - 30k products is achievable
Change the split from 300 to, say 500, or go the other way (see online documentation)
[Don't rub up "helpers" the wrong way]

DaddyChan
04-09-2013, 06:48 AM
Improve the performance of the server - tweak PHP timeouts - 30k products is achievable



What is the best way to do this?

This sounds the best option.

Thanks
Rob