PDA

View Full Version : Feedmachine and 5k products - Fatal error: Out of memory



Rogar
01-28-2012, 12:24 PM
Hi,

I am trying to use feedmachine and I keep getting the following error - I've used it before on about 1k-2k products but now I have 5k.

Fatal error: Out of memory (allocated 135790592) (tried to allocate 57 bytes)

I've spoken with my host and they have told me they have given me the maximum memory I'm allowed.

Is there any I can try to get this to work or can I just do 500 products at a time?

If this is not possible does anyone know how I can extract the data from the database for Google UK (most of the headings needed seem fairly obvious, but I'm not sure how to get the url so easily?)

Thank you.

ridexbuilder
01-28-2012, 12:56 PM
Are you reaching the memory limit when trying to run FM within the Admin. console, if so, then trying running it from a cron job. Running the script direct in PHP uses less memory than when wrapped in HTTP.

Rogar
01-28-2012, 01:47 PM
I am trying to use it within admin, and after speaking with my host, they do not offer cron job facilities :(

Do you have any other thoughts on how I can do this?

ridexbuilder
01-28-2012, 01:56 PM
That leaves few options except the obvious one...
[A well tuned, relatively lightly loaded shared server with 1Gb RAM can easily cope with a 5000 product feed. When you get to ten times that amount, then issues really begin to arise. ;)]

Rogar
01-28-2012, 02:11 PM
Thanks for your help - appreciate it.

ridexbuilder
01-28-2012, 04:09 PM
Thanks for your help - appreciate it.
You're welcome. sorry I couldn't assist more with your current situation.

Rogar
01-29-2012, 03:31 PM
You've actually have done me a favour, I've been meaning to change host for sometime but the incentive was never there to justify the time, now it is and I'm currently waiting for name servers to propagate - Just hope it works on the new host lol!

ridexbuilder
01-29-2012, 05:50 PM
Best of luck!