PDA

View Full Version : Display Product Option/Value/Attribute Without Dropdown, Radio or Checkbox



ptrau
08-01-2011, 10:23 AM
Sounds weird huh? But we sell hardwood flooring that comes with a million options and don't want the customer to become confused. We create a separate product for each of the following:

Species
Color
Construction
Width
Thickness
Random Length in Carton
Install Method
and so on.....

Putting all these options on a master product page would be a nightmare. So, what I want to do is create Options/Values/Attributes for each iteration but have them display in something other than a dropdown, radio or checkbox. I am not looking for a million dollar programming project, so if I have missed and easy fix (which I miss all the time), i will just use radio button for attributes and move on.

Here is a competitors product page that shows attributes in the manner I would like to see. The OTHER Guys (http://www.lumberliquidators.com/catalog/product.jsp?productId=6914)

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

tinboye
08-01-2011, 11:25 AM
I use an 3rd party addon for picture attributes called Paps, its 50 dollars for the addon and his customizations are reasonable (30-200) He made it work with the latest oscmax 2.5 rc1 and his support is great. just search for product attribute pictures on google and you will find his homepage, there you can see his demos and interactive demo to see if it suites your needs

ridexbuilder
08-01-2011, 02:12 PM
Here is a competitors product page that shows attributes in the manner I would like to see. The OTHER Guys (http://www.lumberliquidators.com/catalog/product.jsp?productId=6914)

If your talking about the swatch on the right hand side, then that is built-in with 'Max - it's called Dynamic Mopics. Yes, it isn't directly linked to a given attribute combination but creative use of it can achieve a similar effect.
See: Macupgrade : Mercury Elite-AL Pro Quad 0GB [OWCMEP944FW8EU2] - 75.05EUR (http://macupgrade.eu/catalog/mercury-eliteal-pro-quad-0gb-p-41.html)
Instead of different views, you could have different finishes and/or colours, for example.

You could also switch the pad_base to be multiple options, in Admin. to get more versatitlity. I do suggest that 2 variable option types, with perhaps 2 checkbox option types be the maximum to be used for one product. Otherwise, it can be both confusing to the customer and complex to manage.

pgmarshall
08-02-2011, 12:01 AM
I don't think I understand the question - I can not see anything on "the competition's" website that is not available straight out of the box in osCmax. Can you explain a bit more which bit you think you can not do? Regards,

ptrau
08-03-2011, 10:18 AM
pgmarshall: Thanks for the reply. Here is the difference I am talking about:

Theirs:
http://flooringsteals.com/images/forum_posts/them.jpg

Ours:
http://flooringsteals.com/images/forum_posts/ours.jpg

Just want to show single attributes WITHOUT dropdowns, checkboxes, radio boxes etc. I know this isn't standard but in our industry showing each product with it's individual attributes is standard.

pgmarshall
08-03-2011, 10:56 AM
Then you will simply need to create a product for each variant! Don't use the attributes ...

Regards,

ridexbuilder
08-03-2011, 11:58 AM
Some of those aren't attributes anyway, just specifications, which can be put in a separate product tab, for example.

See "Tab 1" of http://max25.dev.ejsolutions.co.uk/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=12

michael_s
08-03-2011, 01:26 PM
pgmarshall: Thanks for the reply. Here is the difference I am talking about:

Theirs:
http://flooringsteals.com/images/forum_posts/them.jpg

Ours:
http://flooringsteals.com/images/forum_posts/ours.jpg

Just want to show single attributes WITHOUT dropdowns, checkboxes, radio boxes etc. I know this isn't standard but in our industry showing each product with it's individual attributes is standard.

You may want to investigate this mod:
osCommerce Community Add-Ons (http://addons.oscommerce.com/info/6771)