PDA

View Full Version : ImageMagick and images - its all about automation!

carver6
01-12-2004, 12:43 PM
I'm using ImageMagick to resize and create thumbnails. I am new to OSCommerce, [email protected], and PHP. I have a working site where image modification is automated, but my coding is not finished, and this is my first MOD. Need some help! I'm looking for what I may be missing...

ImageMagick convienantly takes one number as input (in pixels) and scales image proportionately down so that width or height maximum is the number inputed. No need to do complex calculations or worry about landscape or portait image layouts... sweet

Basic process I',m using is:
Create the following folders to hold product images:

images/images_big (already installed, holds larger image that appears in pop-up window when clicking on display image).

images/images_display (the actual product displayed on website)
images/images_thumb (thumbnail images)
images/images_original (original image unmodified)

When the file is uploaded from Admin website, original uploaded image is run through ImageMagic 3 times to create an image for each folder. Original images is input to ImageMagick, and output is placed in its respective image folder. Then original full size image is moved to images_original. If copied to images_original, then original uploaded image has to be deleted when finished (I have not got that far yet). Here is my code in admin/includes/classes/upload.php (so far!)

Line 96, after:

function save() {
global $messageStack;

if (substr($this->destination, -1) != '/') $this->destination .= '/';

if (move_uploaded_file($this->file['tmp_name'], $this->destination . $this->filename)) {
chmod($this->destination . $this->filename, $this->permissions);

Start MOD code here ->

// MODIFY // COPY IMAGES TO DIFFERENT DIRECTORIES ////////////////////

$originalImage = $this->destination . $this->filename;

$copyImgBig = DIR_FS_DOCUMENT_ROOT . IMAGE_DIR_BIG . $this->filename;