PDA

View Full Version : How to handle oversize charges

JohnW
03-17-2006, 08:31 AM
For most of my products I can have shipping charges work off of product total and I've been using that system for over 3 years. However, I have a few items that get oversize charges from UPS because of the lenght of the item. I would like to be able to have an added shipping charges show up when these items are in someones cart. Basically like shipping 10.95 + $9.00 oversize box charge. Or, even have the product show up as say 14.95 + $9.00 oversize charge.

Anyone else dealing with this situation?

met00
03-18-2006, 06:58 PM
similar. Oversized products get shipped via BAX Global. Added "oversized" flag to the product and in shipping have a complex if-then-else (US order get options of fedex and ups unless they are APO/FPO , Hawaii, Alaska and PR, (or international) then they get USPS. Oversize can not ship outside the continental US and always gets BAX if there is ONE oversize in the product.

I would add the flag, in your case, and then add a field for products_oversize_shipping. If the flag is set then add the value from the products_oversize_shipping to a tot_oversize_ship_amount and if that is NOT zero, display that at checkout (add a module to include that in the checkout process). Additionally, the products_info template can have a check to see if the products_oversize_shipping is greater than zero, and if it is them proint out an informational text along with the amount being added on the product_info page.

JohnW
03-27-2006, 01:42 PM
Thanks for your reply met00. I have to digest this a little more to make sure I fully understand. I have a test site on my local machine that I can start working on this. I only ship within the 48 states now but with more products hitting OS charges I need to remedy my system.

dgholstein
12-05-2006, 03:58 AM