PDA

View Full Version : Shop by Price



pefc2525
01-15-2006, 09:11 AM
Been searching and can't find how to set up "Shop by Price".

met00
02-13-2006, 01:40 PM
I'm just curious, who the heck "shops by price"? I have seen this as a request from store owners and sometimes I see catalogs that do "gift listings" by price (IE: under $35.00), but the reality is, I just don't know how people expect that to work.

Anyway, an easy way is to call the search.php passing in the min and/or max proce as variables. So, create a side box that has a pulldown on price (ie: <option=25> Under $25.00) and then when someone hits the button it calls seach.php sending over the price variable set with that price. If you want the system to handle price ranges (ie: <select name=minmax> <option=25t35> Between 25-35) then in search.php create a check for the minmax variable and split it at the "t" and load the proper internal variables in the search with the min and max dollar values.

No need to recreate the wheel when the wheel already is there and just needs some different treading :-)

jpf
02-13-2006, 08:45 PM
You could try converting and adding:

Shop by price infobox
http://www.oscommerce.com/community/contributions,1276

Good Luck