PDA

View Full Version : UK Tax displaying for listing & basket but lost on check



rjavery
08-20-2005, 01:05 PM
I have a (rather urgent) problem with my checkout process. Now I know plenty of people use osCommerce in the UK so VAT must be handled correctly.

Basically I believe I have a good VAT setup. Prices are properly displayed inclusive of 17.5% TAX in the product listings and in the customers basket. However on moving to the confirm order part of the checkout process the VAT has been lost and the system confirms the purchase with no VAT. This is obviously a problem but I cannot see what I have done wrong.

VAT is set up at 17.5% for all zones of the UK.

Does anyone know what I may have missed?

rjavery
08-21-2005, 02:00 AM
I have created an 'EU' tax zone which contains United Kingdom / All Zones and Germany / All Zones.

Signing in as a user from the UK or Germany and the whole application shows inc TAX prices (which seems correct) until the order confirmation page where there is no tax line displayed and prices are ex-vat.

Signing in as a USA customer displays all prices ex-vat at all times, which appears to be correct.

It appears the tax zone settings are working OK (can anyone confirm this) but that the checkout process is broken.

I just don't understand why the checkout process is treating the tax zones differently.

The other possibility I suppose is that the checkout process is just not trying to calc tax. I have configured the order module in admin to have Sub Total sort order 1, Tax sort order 2, Total order 800. All other modules have been removed at the moment.

Really stumped by this one!

michael_s
08-21-2005, 05:58 AM
Have you checked the bugtracker?

http://bugtrack.oscmax.com/view.php?id=29
http://bugtrack.oscmax.com/view.php?id=50

rjavery
08-21-2005, 09:21 AM
Have you checked the bugtracker?

http://bugtrack.oscmax.com/view.php?id=29
http://bugtrack.oscmax.com/view.php?id=50

Michael, no I have not checked here. They look like great leads thanks a million. I have been pulling my hair out searching the forums.

One of the issues is there is so much information available it is hard to find the right source.

I will try this out this evening!

michael_s
08-21-2005, 09:31 AM
Yes, it can be daunting finding answers. I suggest that for any weird behavior that you see in osCMax 2, to first visit the bugtracker.

The download has about 50 bugs in it that need to be patched, and all of them are listed at the bugtracker. We will be releasing a new package shortly, we just have to do a little further testing... Look for RC2 in a matter of days.

rjavery
08-21-2005, 11:44 AM
Have you checked the bugtracker?

http://bugtrack.oscmax.com/view.php?id=29
http://bugtrack.oscmax.com/view.php?id=50

Perfect Michael, thanks a bunch.

I will try to remember to check bugtracker in future.