PDA

View Full Version : define our database connection??? Newbie, assistance please

louish
01-19-2003, 04:13 PM
I am very new to PHP and MYSQL, and dont even know what im doing, at all. If someone could please explain to me what exactly I need to modify when it says:
// define our database connection
define('DB_SERVER', 'exchange');
define('DB_SERVER_USERNAME', 'mysql');
define('DB_SERVER_PASSWORD', '*****');
define('DB_DATABASE', 'catalog');
define('USE_PCONNECT', 1);

The ONLY thing I know to change is the password (which I *'d out.).

So pretty much, the ONLY thing I modified so far in the application_top.php file was the DB_SERVER_PASSWORD... thats it. I dont know what else to modify.

And when I go to my site, it says it cant connect to the database :( . (not surprized! :!: )

I am running on a Cobalt RAQ3 with PHP3 and MySQL (Cobalt MySQL Release 3.23.37-1)

the url to my store is http://www.teamlouish.com/os/catalog/

I am an extreme newbie to MySQL, so I need to be spoken too like an idiot. Thanks :)

doug
01-20-2003, 01:47 AM
Did you follow the standard osCommerce install?

I know it can be a little hard to find but from memory it is in a directory called install in the catalog directory.

Failing that download and follow the superb installation document available from this site under downloads :wink:

louish
01-20-2003, 02:21 AM
I dont have an install folder. Just an install file that has a short description of extracting the contents of the tar file and extracting the sql tables.

i kept reading on other posts from other peple about an install folder... I dont have that anywhere. i downloaded the latest copy from http://www.oscommerce.com/downloads

I downloaded both the individule files and the package download. Neither have install folders nor any install.php file anywhere. They just have a simple 4k install file in the root dir (before catalog or admin) which includes quick installation steps for un tarring the files.

modom
01-20-2003, 07:47 AM
Hi,