PDA

View Full Version : Books on modifying templates for Ver 2.5

DaveSullivan
03-01-2012, 06:56 AM
Hi
I was just wondering if you guys know of any books available which explained some techniques to change the look of oscMax. It is a great package and from playing around with it on and off for a few months now I am really getting to like it. It is a credit to all working on the project. I am looking forward to using it on some upcoming projects of my own (At which time I will of course make a donation for each use) but I would like to play around with creating new templates first. I have done a little myself but have not been able to create anything like some of the amazing looking templates out there. I am the type of guy who likes to do things myself even though it can sometimes involve a sharp learning curve. I am relatively new to php but think I have gone a long way in a short time certainly enough to wet my appetite for more challenging results.
Obviously with your knowledge of the structure of oscmax you would be best suited to judge if a book was good.

Any advise on the topic would be much appreciated

David

michael_s
03-01-2012, 08:29 AM
Any html/css book will give you all the info you need on how to change the design of osCmax.

It uses a great template system that is based on nothing more than good old html/css.

The only things you need to remember that are osCmax specific -

1. Make a copy of the fallback template as your starting point (either fallback or the much easier to edit fallback-html)
2. Then depending on which of the above you use, you edit main_page.tpl.php or main_page.html of your template to change the overall page structure/layout
3. Edit stylesheet.css in your template directory to change the colors/fonts/style to your liking.