PDA

View Full Version : OSCMax will not send emails

zippy142
01-22-2012, 06:09 AM
Newbie here,

I was running OSCommerce for several months and found OSCMax so I did a conversion. Removed, Oscommerce, Updated my Ubuntu to 11.04 and installed new OSCMax. I've started loading products into the store and tried the "Contact Us" feature. It would not send emails. I did not realize that I would need to re-setup my mail in Ubuntu after the upgrade. So I fired up Evolution Mail and put in the settings to connect to my ISP's mail server, sent a test email and it worked. I setup the email in OSCMax admin panel (checked all the stupid stuff - Send emails - true etc). I've tried all kinds of settings but to no avail. OSCMax is saying the mail is sent. I checked the Ubuntu email logs and there are empty.
I'm just about ready to go but this is a huge snag. Any help would be appreciated.

pgmarshall
01-22-2012, 09:54 AM
Can you check your PHP version and settings? Goto Admin -> Tools -> Server Info -> Then search for 'Path to sendmail'

zippy142
01-23-2012, 04:41 AM
Thanks for the incredibly fast response, I really appreciate it. The info you requested is:

PHP version 5.3.5-1 Ubuntu 7.4

Path to sendmail = /usr/bin/sendmail -t -i
I also found:
Send Mail From =none
Sendmail path = /usr/bin/sendmail -t -i

Hope this helps,

Thanks in advance

zippy142
01-23-2012, 05:50 AM
Another update.... Since you are looking at the sendmail as a problem, I went on the server and went to the /usr/bin/sendmail and I could not find it. I typed sendmail -bt at the terminal and it looks as though it is not installed! The command listed about 10 packages that would install sendmail. If this is the problem, could you suggest a package. I noticed one was named SSMTP. My ISP, Comcast uses SMTP/POP for the mail transport.
Thanks

pgmarshall
01-23-2012, 11:25 AM