PDA

View Full Version : Moving from OSCommerce to OScMAX

zippy142
12-29-2011, 02:47 PM
Total newbie to Ubuntu/Oscommerce but I plowed ahead and got a website up about a month ago for my small business. I only have a couple of customers and used Easy Populate to easily load the products. I started looking for some add ins to enhance the site and stumbled upon OSCMAX! Since the store is so new I'd like to just move right to OSCMAX which would save me a lot of time instead of installing all the add ins. Is there a step-by-step guide to removing/overwriting OSCommerce and installing OSCMAX? Can I simply change the name of the Catalog folder so I can go back to it if the install goes bad? Can I delete or rename the database in PHPMyAdmin? Thanks for any help and responses in advance. Please keep it a simple as you can.

llamma
01-11-2012, 08:51 AM
No its not that easy. I've recently performed a migration from OSC to Max.
A few things you will want to consider. What items to you want to move, customer accounts and history or just products?
The databases are similar but not the same so you cannot expect to swap one for the other and keep things working.
If you want only to move products, you could go the Easypopulate route that shouldn't be too hard just complete the install of Max and add easy populate to your existing OSC install do an export from OSC and an import to OSCmax. (honestly I've never used easy populate so I really don't know if it will be easy and straight forward)

I would suggest adding OSCmax in a folder next to your existing shopping cart
yoursite.com/catalog <-existing OSCinstall
yoursite.com/catalog2 <-install max here