PDA

View Full Version : osc-max doesn't look right in Mozilla



Anonymous
03-11-2004, 12:18 PM
I'm looking at a fresh install http://www.blackswamp-bootleggers.com of osc-max with Mozilla 1.6 and IE. The infobox headers such as "Categories" overlap. In IE they look ok. I would report this as a bug for Mozilla but evertime I do that they find fault with the web site code. Can someone take a look at it and verify that valid html is being produced?

Anonymous
03-11-2004, 04:58 PM
well it doesn't score perfect on the validator, but I have seen a lot worse.

http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.blackswamp-bootleggers.com%2F

I wouldn't worry about it, Moz will screw ANYTHING up given half a chance. I have been really careful to get validating code for some sites and it still looks squiffy in moz/netscape but perfect in IE/opera. As long as it's useable I wouldn't worry too much.

Anonymous
03-11-2004, 07:20 PM
That's most often because Mozilla adheres to standards and IE lets sloppy html work.

michael_s
03-11-2004, 08:16 PM
So, just mod the templates so they look right in mozilla. I doubt you want to use our AABox template for a live site anyway. We will be working on cleaning things up, but it is a low priority, since we are assuming that you will make your own template for your site.

Anonymous
03-12-2004, 04:35 AM
well it doesn't score perfect on the validator, but I have seen a lot worse.

http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.blackswamp-bootleggers.com%2F

I wouldn't worry about it, Moz will screw ANYTHING up given half a chance. I have been really careful to get validating code for some sites and it still looks squiffy in moz/netscape but perfect in IE/opera. As long as it's useable I wouldn't worry too much.

BTW - If you have valid html that doesn't work in Mozilla please give me a link so I can report it as a bug.

zenaphex
06-09-2004, 05:54 PM
I wouldn't worry about it, Moz will screw ANYTHING up given half a chance. I have been really careful to get validating code for some sites and it still looks squiffy in moz/netscape but perfect in IE/opera. As long as it's useable I wouldn't worry too much.

If you said that in a Mozilla forum they would beat you down. :-P

bjrafferty
08-09-2004, 12:11 PM
So, just mod the templates so they look right in mozilla. I doubt you want to use our AABox template for a live site anyway. We will be working on cleaning things up, but it is a low priority, since we are assuming that you will make your own template for your site.


I have seen quite a few sites that use close to the default template and have very few mods to the look. Maybe I will change mine later, but my priority is getting the products loaded for the shoppers to purchase. If it looked this bad in IE, fixing it would get higher priority.