PDA

View Full Version : Clicking on "Admin" gets error unable to connect t



secretagentwoman
02-23-2004, 06:17 AM
The install was a breeze - until I got to the end, tested the administration tool button, and I got a blank page with the error "Unable to connect to database."

It connected fine during install, and I can connect to it myself, so....help.

I got Oscommerce 2.2 Milestone 2 I believe. The lastest version available for download.

secretagentwoman
02-23-2004, 07:19 AM
Ok, yay for me...

You see, I read somewhere that for security purposes I should rename the admin directory something else. Silly me, I did that BEFORE install and not really thinking that I can't just do that on the fly like that.

Directory renamed back to admin and the configure.php file fixed manually.

Question, though - is there any other potential problems I should head off of having the admin directory not available during installation, or would the configure.php file be the only one er...configured during the install? lol

Thank you for any answers, and most thankfullness for this site in general! :)

secretagentwoman
02-23-2004, 11:28 AM
Answered my own question again - had to do a re-install, lol.

At least installs are quick and easy. :)