PDA

View Full Version : Looking to install locally??

unicorncove
01-26-2004, 09:38 PM
I just downloaded the OSCommerce2.2ms2 yesterday and then today heard that MS2-MAX is better. I haven't installed it yet (I haven't really figured out how...)

Keeping in mind I am a complete beginner here...

1) Is it possible to install MS2-MAX just on Windows and develop it offline, then upload it to a web-host later (when I get one)? I have also installed IBServer (though I also don't know how to use that yet--it was recommended) and I am working on WindowsXP

2) If it IS possible, is there any straight-forward, relatively easy-to-understand instruction on how to install it?

jpf
01-27-2004, 06:59 AM
Install onto a Windows "localhost" for testing/prototyping/programing/reviewing - can do!

Install a triad or WAMP package would be one of the fastest ways (WAMP - Windows installer for Apache, MySQL, and PHP - all in ONE package/install. LAMP -is the same thing but for Lunix)

Try http://appserv.sourceforge.net/
It said it can it has a 20 sec installation - out of the box use. Also installed PHPMyAdmin which is often mentioned in many post here that you may have to use from time to time.

Your "IP" would be http:\\localhost or 127.0.0.1

From that - you should be able to transfer over to a Lunix box your files and database.

1. "Install" on both to create the proper configure.php files for each server.

(make any changes on your local "TEST" server)

2. Backup your test/finished shop's database

3. Transfer that "dump file" to your production server (that you already installed OSC on it to create the configure.php files) and restore in admin or use phpmyadmin to overwrite the DB.

4. Transfer all files (PHP and images files) - EXCEPT your configure.php files - use the ones the install from step 1 created.