PDA

View Full Version : Just installed MS2-Max here's a few tips if your struggling

Anonymous
01-11-2004, 07:10 AM
Hi to every one. Just installed the latest MS2-max version and thought I would leave a few tips for people who are having problems setting up. As it is my first time here I would first of all like to say hello and a very big thank you to Michael Sasek for all his hard work and generosity. I am very glad I found Michael’s site and Max version. I have been trying for weeks to install contribution in the standard MS2 version (most unsuccessfully I might add) and here they are, already done for me. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

Following the OSCdox Installation guide, everything went ok until, Chapter 3, section starting “Using phpMyadmin”. I am a computer engineer not a programmer, until a few weeks ago I never even heard of php or used an SQL database, so this is all new to me. This is how I passed this section.

My web host provides cPanelX making it easy to setup a database. Just select MySQL databases icon from cPanelX, which takes you to MySQL Account Maintenance page. Find the section where it say add database and enter a name in the blank box. Say shop for example and click on Add Database. This creates a database with a filename starting with your user id you used to log on to cPanelX, for example fred . This makes our example database name fred_shop . Now create a User by entering a username and password under the users section on the MySQL Account Maintenance page. Now on the same page in databases section, select the user and database just created above, make sure all privileges is selected then click on “Add User to Database”. That’s it. The database serve is localhost. With this information I was able to proceed and successfully complete the rest of the installation.