PDA

View Full Version : Help! Entire inventory showing as "New Products in Dec&



Izzy
12-07-2002, 07:47 PM
osC ver 2.2, snapshot 11-08
New Install

Site tested & operated fine with osc_sample_database entries.

Using phpMyAdmin, I emptied the tables of the osC sample data.

Next, using .csv files, I uploaded the shop data.

Then, tested the site. Every page load is unacceptably slow. Scrolled down and noted that the first items of my inventory were showing as "New Products for December."

Logic is telling me that somehow all 6,000+ products got designated as "new products" and this is what's making the page stall.

Next logic step - check the 'products_date_added'

Products table: 'products_date_added' equaled the default 0000 date sequence.

I modified the date to show a day in Nov. Didn't help.

Modified the date back to the zero sequence; except for the first few. Changed those to today's date. Didn't work either.

What and where is the qualifier, the parameter, for 'new products'?

Thanking all of you in advance for your response, Izzy

michael_s
12-07-2002, 08:23 PM
This is covered in the guide. Page 39. RTFM :wink:

modom
12-08-2002, 09:52 AM
Also, you would probably want to enable "cache" in the admin.

You can set a cache folder up anywhere...doesn't have to be /tmp

Izzy
12-08-2002, 08:29 PM
Big apology for not checking the Dox about the New Products issue. I worked for 36+ hrs without sleep and wasn't feeling like the sharpest tack in the box. Thanks for the nudge in the right direction.

As for the cache... the site is loaded on a commercial web host.
What should the CHMOD be for /tmp/ ?

Could you direct me to a web page that explains cache, so I will know what it does and if I need to do anything to maintain it?

Izzy

modom
12-08-2002, 09:09 PM
Hi Izzy,

The cache is to hold pages that people go to in a folder so they are easier to load the next time that page is visited as I understand it.

I just setup a folder called cache in catalog and chmod to 777.

There may be a better way but this is what I did.

There is a link in the admin under configuration called logging that Linda McGrath was talking about on the oscommerce.com forum. It also has something to do with pages loading faster. I don't understand it so have never used it.

If you find out let me know.

Hope this helps a little!