PDA

View Full Version : Cannot remove infoboxes. Any help appreciated!



Anonymous
10-05-2003, 10:37 AM
Does anyone know how to turn off the following infoboxes:

We Also Recommend :
and
Customers who bought this product also purchased:

I have gotten both of these to the point that they contain no information and as such are just headers across the center bottom of the screen, but I would like to remove them completely and cannot find where to do it. These infoboxes are not located in the right or left columns.

All cross sell products have been removed in Admin, but these headings still remain.

I can see where they are being called in the product_info.tpl.php file, but when I comment out that portion I get a parse error on all the product pages. Obviously I am missing something.

I am not very familiar with php and would appreciate any help I can get.

You can see what I am talking about here:

http://www.subtlechristianapparel.com/shop/product_info.php?cPath=26&products_id=71&osCsid=53 c4259c162cfbed12baedc402bd3313

Any help would be appreciated

Thanks,
Mac

michael_s
10-05-2003, 12:46 PM
Looks like you figured it out... column_right.php

mcdanie1
10-05-2003, 01:51 PM
What do you mean I figured it out? The headers are still there does anyone know how I can remove the headers listed above?

What does column_right.php have to do with this? I have it completely removed.

Can someone PLEASE help me?

Mac

michael_s
10-05-2003, 02:20 PM
Doh! My mistake. I had a brain cramp. If there are no also purchased products or x-sell products, the boxes should not diplay at all. When I check my test site, the boxes only display on pages where products have also been purchased, or cross sell has been defined for that product.

It is not working correctly on your site. Not sure why. To completely remove the boxes comment out this code in /templates/content/product_info.tpl.php :


//Added for x sell
if ( (USE_CACHE == 'true') && !SID) {
echo tep_cache_also_purchased(3600);
include(DIR_WS_MODULES . FILENAME_XSELL_PRODUCTS);
} else {
include(DIR_WS_MODULES . FILENAME_XSELL_PRODUCTS);
include(DIR_WS_MODULES . FILENAME_ALSO_PURCHASED_PRODUCTS);
}
}

mcdanie1
10-05-2003, 03:43 PM
Thanks for rechecking this! But that is the first thing I tried. When I comment out the code you recommended, I get the following error:


Parse error: parse error in /home/subtleii/public_html/shop/templates/content/product_info.tpl.php on line 256

I am including the code that I have below, starting with line #221 which is the //Added for x sell line and ending with the last line of code which is line #256:


//Added for x sell
if ( (USE_CACHE == 'false') && !SID) {
echo tep_cache_also_purchased(3600);
include(DIR_WS_MODULES . FILENAME_XSELL_PRODUCTS);
} else {
include(DIR_WS_MODULES . FILENAME_XSELL_PRODUCTS);
include(DIR_WS_MODULES . FILENAME_ALSO_PURCHASED_PRODUCTS);
}
}
?>
</td>
</tr>
</table></form><br><br>
<table border="0" width="40%" align="center" cellpadding="10" bgcolor="#b5b1a8">
<tr>
<td align="center">
<table border="0" width="50%" align="center" bgcolor="ffffff">
<tr>
<td><img src="images/Oliveicthus.gif" height="40" width="90"></td>
<td><img src="images/oxfordthirst.gif" height="40" width="90"></td>
<td><img src="images/pixel_trans.gif" height="40" width="90"></td>
<td><img src="images/oxfordpr.gif" height="40" width="90"></td>
<td><img src="images/pixel_trans.gif" height="40" width="90"></td></span>
</tr>
<tr align="center">
<td class="smallText" width="90">Icthus</td>
<td class="smallText" width="90">Thirsty</td>
<td class="smallText" width="90">Faith</td>
<td class="smallText" width="90">Pray</td>
</tr>
</table>
<br>
<span class="smalltext">All SubtleChristian.com apparel is embroidered using a tone on tone color scheme</td></span>
</tr>
</table>

Any thoughts??

Thanks!

Mac

michael_s
10-05-2003, 11:17 PM
You made a mistake somewhere in your code. The problem is not with the MS2-MAX code, or my above suggestion. The problem is with your code.

Debug your work.

mcdanie1
10-06-2003, 04:59 AM
I don't care where where if the error is in your code or not. I have attempted to correct the error myslef and CANNOT. I have put hours aupon hours into developing my store based on this rev of OSC and am asking for help.

Is this not the right place for that?

Mac

annea03
10-06-2003, 06:29 AM
My suggestion would be to go back and get your original product_info.tpl.php.

Then test to see if all your errors are gone. If they are, try the change again. I'm rather new at this myself and understand how even the simple things take time to figure out. I don't think there is any way around the learning curve. Just stick with it and hopefully it will become easier.

In the code that you posted, I don't see that you have commented out the code. Have you been successful in eliminating any of the boxes.

Anne

mcdanie1
10-06-2003, 07:25 AM
I was able to solve this problem by going into the xsell_products.php and the also_purchased_products.php files and commenting out lines 18-61 in the xsell file and lines 18-43 in the also_purchased file. These files are in the includes/modules directory.

After doing this it appears to have accomplished my goal of removing these headers from the product pages.

Thanks
Mac

michael_s
10-06-2003, 09:30 AM
mcdanie1, you should care where the error is, that is the cause of the error. The fix I gave you works if there is not a problem elsewhere. You should still debug your code, since that is where the problem is.

I am helping you, but you do not seem interested in fixing the problem the right way. Nor do you seem to recognize help when it is right in front of you. Yes you can also change the modules, but that is actually a more complex fix than the one I gave you.

It is not my, or anyone elses responsibility to debug your faulty code. Nor can I teach you how to write html so that you don't get errors. I was pointing you in the right direction. Basically, you broke it, I dont know what you did to break it, but I am telling you where the problem lies. What more help do you want?

I would not give you a fix if it did not work. I even took the time to test it myself. To be met with an 'I dont care' attitiude is just insulting. So you have spent a few hours on this install, whoopee! I have spent over a YEAR developing this site, the docs, and over 3 months of continuous work on MS2-MAX. I understand your frustration, but there is no need to be rude.

Please adjust your attitude, this is a volunteer site. Nobody gets paid, nor is anyone obligated to help users who 'don't care.'