PDA

View Full Version : Downloadable Products Question



minuteman1970
09-25-2007, 05:49 AM
I run a live OSCommerce v2.2 shop, and am also testing a OScMax 2.0 shop as well. I am considering adding a slew of downloadable e-book products on my shop, but need to better understand how the feature works.

I currently sell about three thousand products of varying sizes and weights, and use the "table" shipping method to base postage charges on total order amount. How will this affect the downloadable products feature if I utilize it? I don't want to charge shipping for these products, unless a customer orders non-ebooks in their order as well. Does the stock OSc and OSc Max functionality allow for this?

Thanks in advance.

michael_s
09-25-2007, 06:23 AM
You set the product weight to 0 for downloads and it just skips the shipping for the download.

minuteman1970
09-25-2007, 06:38 AM
Thanks for the feedback. The dilemma I currently have with my live stock OSc is that none of my products were entered with weights, which does not affect my 'table' shipping function (shipping is based upon order total). It sounds like I need to update weights for every item, and switch to a different shipping module which is based upon weights.
Since my stock OSc shop does not have Easy Populate installed, I would need to edit all 3000 products to enter an estimated weight for each. Is there another way around this? Perhaps I should just wait until my OSc Max 2.0 shop is ready for production.
Thanks.

c.h.u.d.
09-26-2007, 03:43 PM
It does not matter if the shipping module is weight based or not, setting the weight to zero will cause the checkout process to skip shipping.

It is simple to run a query on the database to change the weight on all products to 1 either with phpmyadmin or from the command line.

minuteman1970
09-26-2007, 04:12 PM
It does not matter if the shipping module is weight based or not, setting the weight to zero will cause the checkout process to skip shipping.

It is simple to run a query on the database to change the weight on all products to 1 either with phpmyadmin or from the command line.

Sounds like a simple enough solution. My hosting company allows me to have access to PHPMyadmin..... however, I am unfamiliar with the specific of what the query command should look like.
Can someone please fill me in?

Thanks.